Infiniti QX60 Forum banner
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm new to the QX forum but previously owned an M45 and a Q45. The QX60 we purchased only had one fob. I have purchased a second/new one on Ebay along with a blank key (for about $50).

What is my risk of having a local locksmith do the programming. Or can I even do it myself? Or should I shell out the extra $$ to have an Infiniti dealer do it?

Thanks in advance for any advice or suggestions.

·
Premium Member
570 Posts
We purchased a 1993 Nissan 300ZX and ordered two factory key fobs. Nissan wanted $135 each to program them. I went to the ZX forum and a member gave me the recipe. You might be able to Google it also. Strange way to program it, but it worked and took 3 minutes each. To give you and example, I had to be in the car with the all doors, hood and hatch closed, doors locked. Then insert the key in and out of the ignition rapidly twice, followed by hitting the unlock button on the fob. It worked. So...I'm thinking there has to be some magic way the dealership does it with the push button ignition.

Have you checked with an Infiniti and Nissan dealership to see what they charge? You would think Infiniti would do it at no cost if you purchased the car at their dealership.

·
Premium Member
539 Posts
I'd be very surprised if locksmith can do more than just cut the key blank. I don't think he can program the fob. I hope the fob you got works. I've had clients bring in ebay fobs that didn't work.

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Thanks.. I'm seeing many locksmiths on the internet here in the Atlanta area that are claiming to be able to program FOBS (also known as transmitters). It looks like they charge about $100 vs. $175+ at the dealer. The question is will they screw it up and I'll end up with no FOBS that work!

The ebay FOB was purchased from Infinitinissanparts and is quaranteed to work. I matched the FCC ID to be sure.