Homelink / Garage door opener programming issue - Infiniti QX60 Forum
User Tag List

 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 8 (permalink) Old 05-04-2015, 12:36 AM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Thumbs down Homelink / Garage door opener programming issue

I have a three car garage with two 15 year old openers and a new one just installed. My 2013 JX mates to the two older ones fine. But it appears that the new garage door remote cannot be programmed into the JX's Homelink. But check this out... when I had the QX60 loaner, I was able to program the new door to it!

The dealer replaced my JX rear view mirror/Homelink. But when I got home, I still have the issue with the third door. Does anyone know if there is a "new" rear view mirror/Homelink part number for the 2015 QX60's which would explain why that one worked? And then I assume they replaced my mirror with the old part number? The part number that shows in my repair report is "MIRROR ASSY - INSIDE - 96321 - CM30A". Is there a newer part number?
theclutch is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 8 (permalink) Old 05-04-2015, 10:41 AM
Senior Member
 
Rooster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Fredericksburg, VA
Posts: 212
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 39 Post(s)
Since you have a new opener, it uses a random security code that changes. That means there is an extra step required to program your home link remote. There is a security button on your new opener box that you have to push during the programming process. You will hold the remote up to the home link mirror and press both buttons like normal, then get out of the car, press the security code button on the opener in the garage (you will need a step ladder), then repeat pressing both the remote and home link button in the car.

For the specific instructions, read the home link program section i n your owners manual.
Rooster is offline  
post #3 of 8 (permalink) Old 05-04-2015, 11:24 PM
Lead Moderator
 
BobOB's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Gig Harbor, WA
Posts: 492
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 80 Post(s)
I replaced all 4 garage door openers with Chamberlin garage door openers two years ago. Like Rooster stated, there should be a program or learn button on the motor unit that needs to be pressed first, then go through the programming procedure in the car. It took me several attempts to get it right, but it works now. Here is a link to Homelink's website: HomeLink
BobOB is offline  
 
post #4 of 8 (permalink) Old 05-05-2015, 10:44 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Northern CA
Posts: 33
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
One thing that will cause your homelink to not work (and some of the hand held units as well) is the installation of LED bulbs in your garage door opener. For some reason these interfere with the signal transmitted. Ran into the same problem and a google search netted that answer. Changed back to regular light bulbs and it fixed the problem.

2015 QX60 AWD with
Premium and Premium Plus
John P Meirhofer is offline  
post #5 of 8 (permalink) Old 05-07-2015, 10:43 PM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rooster View Post
Since you have a new opener, it uses a random security code that changes. That means there is an extra step required to program your home link remote. There is a security button on your new opener box that you have to push during the programming process. You will hold the remote up to the home link mirror and press both buttons like normal, then get out of the car, press the security code button on the opener in the garage (you will need a step ladder), then repeat pressing both the remote and home link button in the car.

For the specific instructions, read the home link program section i n your owners manual.

Yes, I know that. But thanks for sharing anyway. This is exactly how I programmed the other two doors. I.e. - use a step ladder to press the button in the garage door motor unit itself.

Quote:
Originally Posted by John P Meirhofer View Post
One thing that will cause your homelink to not work (and some of the hand held units as well) is the installation of LED bulbs in your garage door opener. For some reason these interfere with the signal transmitted. Ran into the same problem and a google search netted that answer. Changed back to regular light bulbs and it fixed the problem.


Hmm... this is interesting.


As a data point, I got a QX60 (renamed JX35) and the garage door openers programmed perfectly fine. So this tells me that either something was wrong with my rear mirror/garage door opener OR the newer QX60 has a new version. I would think it's the latter since they replaced my rearview mirror and the same issue is still present. The new unit that they installed cannot read the new garage door.


Thoughts?
theclutch is offline  
post #6 of 8 (permalink) Old 05-23-2015, 12:36 AM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
I had a similar issue 2 years ago with my brand new expedition. I had just replaced my garage door opener with a Chamberlain belt drive. There was a new homelink version that had been rolled out to the opener that was not yet available on the vehicles, something link 2.0 I think. I had to order a homelink repeater kit from Amazon for around $40.

Since this was 2013, I can't believe this would still be an issue.....


Liftmaster 855LM HomeLink® Repeater Kit - Garage Door Hardware - Amazon.com Liftmaster 855LM HomeLink® Repeater Kit - Garage Door Hardware - Amazon.com
touchdown83 is offline  
post #7 of 8 (permalink) Old 08-20-2015, 07:03 AM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by John P Meirhofer View Post
One thing that will cause your homelink to not work (and some of the hand held units as well) is the installation of LED bulbs in your garage door opener. For some reason these interfere with the signal transmitted. Ran into the same problem and a google search netted that answer. Changed back to regular light bulbs and it fixed the problem.
Nice Suggestion! Hoping to get more suggestion on this one

Regards
Garage Door Replacement Phoenix Company
ChaAZydTalyr is offline  
post #8 of 8 (permalink) Old 04-06-2016, 11:24 AM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
I just went through this on my new 2016 QX60 and an older Genie garage door with a rolling code. If you follow all of the programming steps and still can't link the car, instead of pressing the button up to three times, hold it down for that step until the LED changes its state. The car will then be synchronized to the opener. The other step that I had to perform on my opener since it is older was refreshing it to allow for the new controller since it was maxed out at seven.
filmtech is offline  
Reply

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome